Revision History

ACR Accreditation is a self-assessment and peer review process focused on diagnostic image quality, staff qualifications, policies, protocols, equipment, and therapeutic treatment. It allows facilities to set and surpass industry-accepted quality standards for patient care and includes recommendations for improvement. 

ACR Accreditation is recognized as the gold standard in medical imaging. Since 1987, the ACR has accredited more than 38,000 facilities in 10 imaging modalities: 

  • Breast Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)

  • Breast Ultrasound

  • Computed Tomography (CT)

  • Mammography

  • MRI

  • Nuclear Medicine 

  • Positron Emission Tomography (PET)

  • Radiation Oncology

  • Stereotactic Breast Biopsy 

  • Ultrasound

Figure 1: A Timeline of the ACR's Accreditation Modalities

By displaying the gold seal(s) of ACR accreditation, facilities demonstrate to patients, payers and referring physicians their commitment to providing the safest and best quality care possible. 

Revision History for this Article



Description of Revision(s)



Article created; FAQs incorporated; No criteria changes

Previous: Introduction to the ACR
Next: Benefits of ACR Accreditation